Testimonials

Take a moment to read what individuals had to say about their stay at our beautiful one bedroom cottage. To read more reviews and see all available dates, please go to our VRBO listing #685013, or call HHH at 484-638-1575.

 

default image

A weekend getaway!

We loved our time at Roger and Jan's cottage. It's a beautiful, small, and cozy place with everything you could ask for. The fireplace is lovely and the bedroom is perfect. Roger and Jan went out of there way to make us feel at home - homemade muffins, a bottle of wine, etc. We absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking to get away for a while.

— Kali February 9, 2017

default image

Can’t Wait to Return!

The pictures do not do this amazing cottage any justice. The ambiance, surroundings, and owners are top notch. We enjoy experiencing new places all of the time but this is one that we will be returning to without a doubt!!!

— Steve February 9, 2017

default image

Wonderful cottage

The Heller's cottage is a wonderful place to stay. It is charming, comfortable and very clean. The owners think of everything for their guests' comfort. The cottage's peaceful location provides an opportunity to rest and enjoy nature. There is also lots to do in the area. I would highly recommend a stay at this cottage and we plan to return soon.

– Anon. February 9, 2017

default image

Exceptionally Quiet Getaway Nestled in Rural Countryside

Our stay was wonderful. Jan & Roger Heller were the best host and hostess. They are kind, honest & genuine people who appreciate their every day. We enjoyed visiting with them and sharing our life stories. The cottage was perfect - charming and cozy. The Hellers' attention to every detail made us feel like family. From the rocking chairs on the porch, the hiking trail on the property and countryside views, the cozy custom gas fireplace to the homemade muffins and jam, we had the perfect quiet getaway. We certainly hope to return.

— Mary February 9, 2017

default image

Even better than the photos and the description!

This darling guest farmhouse was everything you hope for in a VRBO and more! It was immaculately clean and so thoughtfully appointed with every guest comfort in mind! Our hostess, Jan was there to greet us despite our late arrival. A bright and cheering fire was going in the fireplace when we arrived. Muffins and strawberry jam (as well as other snacks and breakfast items) were thoughtfully provided. The king sized bed located upstairs was among the most comfortable we have ever slept on. The front porch receives morning sun and everywhere you looked on the well-maintained farm, there were either flowers or touches of seasonal decorations. While we did not cook during our short visit, it appeared every kitchen convenience you could want were at your fingertips. My only advice is to arrive before dark if you are not used to driving in hilly farm country as this quaint little place is nestled into the rural countryside. The surrounding views are well worth the trip and we would definitely return if visiting the area again.

— Karen February 9, 2017

default image

Exceptional host and hostess. Wonderful, charming cottage.

From the time of booking until our departure day, our stay was fabulous. Greeted by warm and personable hosts Roger and Jan. Despite a serious illness and regretfully, subsequent death in their family, they took the time to show us everything on the property and inside the cottage. The cottage is immaculate, and professionally decorated. Kitchen has everything you would need to prepare a full meal . Essentials in the fridge, and pantry as well as a basket of snacks, and a bottle of wine from the local winery to celebrate our anniversary. You cannot get this service at most hotels. Were certainly hope to return!

— Judy February 9, 2017

default image

Wonderful getaway in a gorgeous setting!

Just returned home from our vacation to Berks County, PA and can't wait to give a positive review to the Heller's. This was our first experience with VRBO and it could not have been any better. Jan and Roger were there to greet us as we arrived and then showed us around the cottage and grounds. They are very genuine and kind hosts. They give you your privacy, but are close by if you need anything at all. We found the location to be centrally located to all the areas we wanted to visit. We visit this area about once a year, and this will be our "go to" place. Thanks Roger and Jan!!!!!

— Jack February 9, 2017

default image

Wonderful Labor Day Weekend at Heller Hillside Hideaway (HHH)

The best things about HHH are Roger and Jan. They are fantastic people. They were gracious enough to spend some time with us on our first evening. We really enjoyed the time sharing stories about our families and vacations while sitting around the fire pit. Beyond the nice array of snacks that were provided in the cabin, Roger and Jan brought us an eclair pie later in our stay. Yummy. The cabin is quiet and cozy and looks exactly like the pictures. It is immaculately maintained and very comfortable. There was a nice assortment of breakfast cereals, snacks and drinks provided along with condiments. We especially enjoyed the muffins and homemade strawberry jam. We made a point of having toast every breakfast to finish off the delicious jam. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything needed. The outdoor space is picturesque PA farmland and ample seating options were available around the yard. Very quiet. The highlight of our stay was evenings sitting around the fire pit roasting sausages and making pizza pies. Everything that was needed to build and maintain the fire was provided as well as outdoor lighting, insect repellent, and ingredients to make s'mores. Roger and Jan have assembled a nice binder that describes the historic property and provides information about local attractions and restaurants. Anyone looking to spend some quiet time relaxing should find HHH will exceed their needs. Roger and Jan will make you feel like family.

— Jeffrey February 9, 2017

default image

THE Perfect, Peaceful, Paradise

Where do I begin,? First of all I DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE! 🙁 From the time we started driving down there driveway then Jan and Roger met us as we pulled up to they're home, Two of the sweetest and most loving people you would ever want to meet ,and it showed all through our cottage ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE ,YOU know they had put ,a lot of time ,thought and love into it . The kitchen had EVERYTHING needed for whatever you wanted , PLUS they had all kinds of goodies ,ESPECIALLY the muffins THE BEST I have ever had OH my goodness, my husband still craves them, " me too" 🙂 The bedroom was something right out of Southern Living magazine,and the bed "SOOO COMFY " loved the living room with the fireplace, definitely want to come in the Fall. .Loved looking out and seeing deer. Sitting out back drinking my morning coffee listening to NOTHING but birds ,it was so peaceful.. Took a walk through the trails. The only thing I was upset with is that we couldn't stay longer 🙁 WE WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK.

— Winona February 9, 2017

default image

Secluded Quiet Fantastic

We enjoyed the Hellers and the cottage as it and they were the best. The cottage is perfect and the Hellers have taken a lot of thought and care to make our stay wonderful.

Couldn't ask for more.

— Steve and Billie February 9, 2017

default image

Peaceful and Relaxing

This was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery. The yard is peaceful and there are lots of places to sit and enjoy the trees and wildlife. The hosts are friendly and thoughtful - everything was well organized, even ingredients for making s'mores and everything I needed if I wanted to make a fire in the outdoor ring. The house was supplied with everything I needed and more. I can tell that Jan and Roger enjoy hosting people in their rental. They truly want you to feel comfortable and enjoy your stay. The accommodations were very clean and well decorated. Everything was in excellent shape. I will definitely be back!

— Susan S. July 7, 2016

default image

A Perfect Getaway

We were looking for a quiet getaway out of the city and this was perfect... a charming house, incredibly well thought-out and decorated, with many thoughtful touches and amenities. A well equipped kitchen with generous breakfast supplies and treats provided. Jan and Roger were two of the most genuinely welcoming hosts I've ever encountered. We had a delightful weekend.... so much so that we booked a return visit for two weeks later!

— Kerri May 30, 2016

default image

Heavenly

Truly a wonderful charming cottage for a couple getaway!  Everything you need and more.  The owners have gone out of their way to provide everything we needed even down to the kinds of quality kitchenware I like!!  The bed was so comfortable and beautifully made.  Just loved this 2 night getaway with my wonderful husband.  A return stay is definitely being considered.  Do yourself a favor and book a few nights here.  You will just love it!!

— Denise May 20, 2016

default image

Heller’s Hillside Hide A Way

We can't say enough about how pleasant our stay was. Jan and Roger made us feel perfectly at home. Always responsive to messages before we arrived and ensured we were good to go. Once we arrived at their place, we were welcomed by Jan and Roger. They were very kind and generous hosts. We felt so welcome upon our arrival, with a quick tour in the cottage. The cottage was clean, quiet and perfect set-up, with everything you could ask for, even things you would not think you would need: soap, lots of towels, snacks, and bottled of water, just to name a few. I could tell that Jan and Roger knew what travelers needed because all of the details were so perfect and organized. Also, the cottage is exactly as described and pictured. We loved our stay there and only wish it could have been longer. I would absolutely recommend staying here.

— Ibrahim May 10, 2016

default image

Hospitality and Comfort

We had a lovely two night stay at this beautiful cottage. It lacks for nothing from a cozy fireplace to a fully stocked kitchen to the comfortable king size bed to the beautiful backyard with walking trails and birds singing. Roger and Jan are gracious hosts and treated us as though we were family. Jan's baked oatmeal for breakfast was so delicious. I would highly recommend this little hideaway cottage.

— Carrol from Wisconsin April 6, 2016

default image

Heller’s Hillside Hideaway

"Before I even talk about the location and property I simply have to start with the owners, Jan and Roger Heller.  What wonderful, kind and generous hosts they are.  The love and care they have poured into their property for 44 years shows in every corner and in  every detail.  They provided for every little thing you might need or want while there.  We were blown away by the amount of food they provide upon arrival.  The Hideaway is very comfortable and exquisitely decorated.  When you look up the word charming in the dictionary, there should be photos of the Hideaway.  It was one of the nicest if not the nicest places we've ever stayed and we've stayed at quite a few nice places.  Our only complaint is that we were there for only two days and that was not nearly enough time (of course our fault).  Lovely, Lovely, Lovely.  Thank you, Jan and Roger!"

— Judie B. February 6, 2016

default image

Lovely Place of Inspiration

This was a totally amazing getaway...ahh. Every comfort necessary for an easy going vacation in a quiet place of inspiration. The scenery...mountain ridges, farmland, lake...was breathtaking and allowed us to enjoy nature and decompress away from the hubbub. We hiked, bird watched, lollygagged, and found a lovely natural foods store not far away. We definitely enjoyed our short, but totally renewing stay at Heller's Hillside Hideaway.

Jan & Roger made fabulous choices when furnishing the cottage and that made our stay very relaxing. Having snacks and juices plus necessities awaiting our check in gave us much needed respite after traveling and hiking along the way. We especially loved sitting on the rocking chairs on the porch as a late day storm blew thru...ahh. Hearing the thunder, the rustle of the leaves, and a young Beagle baying was a total delight.

This was a wonderful place to renew our spirits and appreciate the simply joys in life. Please go and renew yours in this lovely place of inspiration.

— Donna Marie & Denis D. October 6, 2015

default image

Pennsylvania Perfection

There are not enough superlatives to describe our experience here. Quiet, gorgeous, charmingly decorated historical property on the most lovely farm. Expansive views. A hiking trail through the woods. The cottage itself has everything. We did a lot of our own cooking. The kitchen is beautifully equipped as is the whole unit. I can not say how much we enjoyed our stay. We were visiting family and had a fairly busy schedule. Next time we will allow for extra days just to sit on the rocking chairs on the front porch and relax on the property. We will most definitely return. Our hosts Jan and Roger could not have been more engaging, quick to help with local information yet totally respectful of our privacy. Can't wait to visit with them again.

— Jonny from Los Angelas June 6, 2015